Let’s Discuss: Priorities

My yoga session yesterday was about priorities and understanding how well you know them while being told to bend and balance on one leg of course. I’m kind of a granola when it comes to yoga.

So just to tell you a little bit about my practice, I started taking yoga seriously and partaking consistently (two to three times a week) since February 2012. Prior to 2012, I only went to yoga at my convenience or if a friend asked me to go even though I had always loved Vinyasa flow and Bikram.  February of last year was also when I first started my current job which was stressful and nerve-wracking at first. I needed something so desperately to balance the stresses of learning a new job and adapting to a new environment. Yoga practically landed on my lap, and now I am so reliant on it, it’s funny, like granola-funny (it’s okay to laugh).

yoga

yoga (Photo credit: GO INTERACTIVE WELLNESS)

So back to this priorities thing. One of my goals is to make time for things I am interested in e.g. crafts, books, ukulele, learning French, etc. In order to make time for these hobbies, one must assess how time is currently being spent. This is where it gets ugly and math-y. There are 168 hours in a week. I am supposed to sleeping 56 of those hours. I spend about 66 hours per week at work, including lunch break hours. That totals 122 hours, leaving only 46 hours left. Depressing right? Of those 46, I’m cooking/ eating food for 10 of those non-work hours and probably watching TV/ movies for another 10. OH GOSH, that leaves a mere 26 hours! Now it gets really tough. When my yoga teacher was talking about simplifying our lives and prioritizing things that are important to us, I immediately started brooding over social media. Social media is hard to talk about. No one is proud of spending hours on Facebook or Pinterest or Instagram, or whatever. This is why I decided to analyze if I NEED all of these accounts. I believe that as long as you can justify it and differentiate it, it’s fine. Here is the process I followed:

First, list all of the social media sites you’re connected to.

Then, rank them from most important to least to you, 1 being the most important and higher numbers being the least.

Now, determine your primary reasons for using the site. Determine if answers are redundant. Can another site you already have an account with accomplish the same purpose?

Next, determine how many times you check each site each day. Rank them as well, 1 being the most checked and higher numbers being the least checked.

Now add up your rankings. Your lowest sum is the site you frequent the most. Your highest is your least invested site.

From here, you must use your own judgement. The exercise lays it all out, and you may decide that all of them are important to keep but at least now you’ve justified it! 🙂 Here’s mine:

LIP social media analysis

LIP social media analysis

Also, my friend’s blog post definitely gave me the push to asses my social media reliancy. Here is her lovely blog. Hope this helps some of you out with deciding where your precious 26 hours should go!

LIP signature

4 comments
  1. chrisy4 said:

    you inspired me to write a post for the last 30 minutes about living simply… then my Safari browser randomly closed and lost my whole blog #techonolgyproblems #neverendingsaga I’ll try again tomorrow. I LOVED THIS POST

    • Only you Chrisy!! Remember to click “save draft” next time. 🙂 And thanks for reading love!

  2. Brit said:

    Oh Louise. I love that you have taken up yoga so seriously. Time is such a valuable thing and the older I get, the more I realize it. Talking about social media can be embarrassing but this is the world we now live in and the excess and problems they can potentially create need to be talked about. It’s not easy either, deleting an account or severely limiting our times on them. But I believe with my whole heart we will not regret reading a book with our children or sharing a conversation with our spouses over checking twitter nor allowing another persons opinion or lifestyle affect the way we feel about ourselves or how we view other people. thanks for the link by the way. 🙂 love you forever.

    • You’re right, I do need to spend more time talking with my children (Polly & Wallace). 🙂 But I totally agree with you though. I will not regret not sharing what I had for dinner dinner on FB. love you too lady!

Leave a Reply

