happy November 1st

There are 60 days left in the year. What can one accomplish in 60 days?

Well for the first 30 (month of November), the National Novel Writing Month is in effect. Appropriately nicknamed NaNoWriMo, the objective of it is to essentially write a novel in 30 days or at least 50,000 words.  I’m actually thinking about attempting this beast for the first time though I am completely unprepared. I have no solid ideas, but I assume that with a couple glasses of red wine and a pen and pad, pathways will start opening up. My goal is not to complete a novel, but to type 50,000 words about something. Just something. Heck, even if I hit 25,000 words, it will be a start. I’ve also realized that this challenge makes sense in that it aligns with one of my long-term goals, to write a book. Notice that the verbiage I use in my goal is very broad. A “book” could be anything: a book of poems, a novel, a children’s illustrative rhyme. Either way, it’s a start. I will post excerpts from my NaNoWriMo challenge on here to prove that I am working on something, whether or not it be crap.

Here is the official site: http://nanowrimo.org/en

Leave a Reply

